Jumpsuits for Short People

I love seeing other people’s outfits and hearing what occasions they were used for and just seeing what people put together. Something that mystified me about fashion bloggers was how they were getting these fantastic photos of all of their outfits! It occurred to me that they probably weren’t getting their pictures snapped on their way off to work or out to dinner, but probably had photoshoots. Well, I just about made my mom’s week when I asked her to take some “street style” photographs of me. Fridays are my day off and our mother daughter day (aka ma/da day) so we made a day of it and went out to lunch then took some pictures in one of the little towns within Lincoln then got ice cream and took a few more pics down in the historic Haymarket. It was bright, sunny and warm, fantastic weather for March in Nebraska, but the WIND was horrible. Not a few pictures ended up as a vortex of hair around my face. Despite this, I think we did okay.

What I wore:
Navy blue jumpsuit by French Connection bought at Dillard’s on sale for $79
Jean Jacket by NY Jeans which was a hand me down from my sister from 5-10?? years ago.
Black and ecru handbag from Charming Charlie’s for around $39
Mauve pumps by Steve Madden bought at Dillard’s on sale for $30
Gold chain belt from White House Black Market for around $25
Rose gold watch and bracelet also from Charming Charlie’s
Sunglasses I bought at a resort in Cancun when I realized I’d forgotten to pack mine! For shame.

image

This jumpsuit was a great find for me for a couple of reasons. I had been meaning to try the style for a while now, but wrote it off because every one I saw in stores were eleven inches too long in the legs. I’m 5’1″ for reference. This one fit! And I found out why when I saw it on the online catalog, which clearly showed it as an ankle pant on the leggy model. That same day at Dillard’s I found a pair of gray slacks in the perfect length, again, because they were designed as ankle pants. I’m thinking, this is the best trend ever!

image

image

image

image

image

I probably couldn’t wear it styled this way to work, I’d have to have a camisole underneath or a scarf to cover my chest. I didn’t feel like it was too revealing to wear around town with my mother though. There may have been some double takes on the street from the residents of a nearby assisted living community, at least one gentleman was more interested in shouting at traffic law offenders and hurrying ma and I across the street before the light changed.

I love the walking pictures. They make me laugh a lot. I’m such a clumsy person and I can just see the struggle to walk a straight line on the cobblestones.

Tell me what you think of the jumpsuit trend, do you rock it, or have you skipped it? And what about the denim jacket coming back in a big way! I never throw anything out that isn’t falling apart at the seams, and if I do, I end up regretting it.

I’ll talk to you all next week with another OOTD

3 thoughts on “Jumpsuits for Short People

  1. I love your blog, your posts are beautiful! I just followed you, it would be great if we can support each other 🙂 I can’t wait to read more ❤

    Like

Leave a comment